California Arts Council

State of California

Grant Detail

Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards
Cleveland Foundation

Established in 1935 by Cleveland poet and philanthropist Edith Anisfield Wolf, the Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards program is the only American book award designated specifically to recognize works that address issues of racism and diversity. Past winners have presented the extraordinary art and culture of peoples around the world, explored human rights violations, exposed the effects of racism on children, reflected on growing up biracial, and illuminated the dignity of people as they search for justice.

There are two awards, one for a work of fiction or poetry and one for a work of nonfiction, biography, or scholarly research. Only books written in English and published in the preceding calendar year are eligible. Plays and screenplays are not eligible, nor are works in progress. Manuscripts, self-published works, and electronic publications are not eligible, and no grants are made for completing or publishing manuscripts. Works of poetry are eligible for the fiction prize.

Visit the awards program Web site for complete program guidelines and information on previous winners.

Phone: 216.861.3810
Grant link:
Deadline: 12-31-2012

Return to Grants