California Arts Council

State of California

Grant Detail

National Book Foundation Seeks Nominations for its Seventh Annual Innovations in Reading Prize
National Book Foundation

Each year, the National Book Foundation recognizes individuals and institutions that have developed innovative means of creating and sustaining a lifelong love of reading. In addition to promoting the best of American literature through the National Book Awards, the foundation seeks to expand the audience for literature in America.

Through the Innovations in Reading Prizes, those individuals and institutions that use particularly innovative methods to generate excitement and a passionate engagement with books and literature will be rewarded for their creativity and leadership.

The foundation is seeking applications from individuals and institutions that demonstrate a commitment to literature and the promotion of reading for its own sake. Key criteria include creativity, risk-taking, and a visionary quality, as well as a new approach to presenting books and literature. Priority will be given to applications from individuals and institutions that have developed interdisciplinary approaches and incorporate innovative thinking in design, technology, social change, social entrepreneurship, and other fields. Potential candidates can enter themselves for consideration or be nominated by others.

The winner will receive $10,000 and be featured prominently on the foundation's website and in other digital publicity.

See the National Book Foundation's website for complete program guidelines, nomination instructions, and information about winners from previous years.

Grant link:
Deadline: 02-28-2015

Return to Grants