California Arts Council

State of California

Grant Detail

Graham Foundation Accepting Nominations for 2016 Carter Manny Awards
Graham Foundation for Advanced Studies in the Fine Arts

Founded in 1956, the Chicago-based Graham Foundation for Advanced Studies in the Fine Arts provides project-based grants to individuals and organizations and produces public programs to foster the development and exchange of diverse and challenging ideas about architecture and its influence.

Since its establishment in 1996, the foundation's Carter Manny Award program has awarded more than $600,000 in recognition of outstanding doctoral students whose work represents some of the most advanced scholarship on architecture and its role in the arts, culture, and society. The program supports dissertation research and writing by promising scholars whose projects have architecture as their primary concern and have the potential to shape contemporary discourse about architecture and impact the field.

Projects may be drawn from the various fields of inquiry supported by the foundation, including architectural history, theory, and criticism; design; engineering; landscape architecture; urban planning; urban studies; the visual arts; and other related fields.

The foundation offers Carter Manny awards in two categories, one for a student at the research stage of the doctoral dissertation and one for a student at the writing stage of the doctoral dissertation. The research award provides up to $15,000 and the writing award provides up to $20,000.

Ph.D. students who are presently candidates for a doctoral degree are eligible to apply. Students also must be nominated by their department to apply for the Carter Manny Award. The award is open to students officially enrolled in schools in the U.S. and Canada, regardless of citizenship.

For complete program guidelines and application/nomination instructions, visit the Graham Foundation website.

Grant link:
Deadline: 11-15-2015

Return to Grants